Biscuits That Comfort the Soul

So, this nice snowy morning my roommate and I decided that having a nice meal INSIDE our apartment was better than walking a small ways to the cafeteria.Therefore, we resulted in making homemade biscuits, bacon, eggs and country potatoes. I will be showing you how to make the homemade biscuits below.

It’s baking so I actually followed this recipe really closely. Here is the link that I followed: 

http://www.tastebook.com/recipes/2834956-Granny-s-Homemade-Biscuits

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups all purpose flour
  • 1 tablespoon baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 2 tablespoons sugar
  • 1/4 cup butter or margarine
  • 3/4 cup milk
  • Cooking Spray (Apparently you aren’t supposed to use this, but i did on accident… they turned out fine)

Pinterest Blog Biscuits1

Step 1: Heat the oven to 425 degrees.

Pinterest Blog Biscuits3Step 2: Combine all dry ingredients and blend well. I used a spoon to mix them together.

Step 3: Cut the butter into the dough. I did it unconventionally and put the whole stick of butter in and then pulled out a butter knife and just chopped it up in the bowl with the ingredients.. haha, but hey it worked!

Step 4: Add milk into the mixture while stirring. Knead the dough.

Step 5: I added flour here or there along the way, because the outside of the biscuit mix was too wet.

Pinterest Blog Biscuits5Step 6: I then put flour into a different baking pan and rolled out the dough into roughly a half inch thick. (I didn’t actually measure it so I’m positive i made them too thin,because they didn’t rise very much)

Pinterest Blog Biscuits4

Step 7: I used a mason jar to cut the biscuits into their shape. Then placed them onto a greased (or if you actually follow the recipe engrossed) baking sheet.

Step 8: When the oven heats up place the biscuits in the oven for 12-15 minutes. It only took 12 minutes to cook ours.

Pinterest Blog Biscuits6

Step 9: Let cool.

Step 10: Voilà, It’s now time to enjoy!

Pinterest Blog Biscuits2

These biscuits were very anticipated and were just as good as i imagined. I was hoping they would rise, but they still tasted great. We added apple butter on to them to add to the deliciousness. I recommend eating them with apple butter 😉 

Best,

Shannon Maddex

Leave a Reply

